Warning over app that can drain your account even when you delete it

0
11



Android users are being warned about a popular app which could be draining money from their bank accounts.

The app is reported to have made £78million from premium subscriptions – reports The Express.

The app, SnapTube, is promoted as an easy way to download videos from YouTube and Facebook – and has been downloaded more than 40 million times.

And while it is free to download users report they have been unknowingly signed up for premium-rate subscriptions.

According to a new report from UpStreamSystems, users with SnapTube installed on their smartphone could find themselves signed up for premium services without their knowledge.

Google allows third-party developers to charge the credit or debit card saved with your Google account to enable some of the most popular services – like Netflix, for example – to work seamlessly for Android smartphone and tablet owners.

Android app users are usually able to cancel the trial period manually to avoid being charged for the full subscription.

However, the vast majority of users simply uninstall an app when they’re not interested – or want to avoid moving to a subscription.

Some might’ve forgotten that they’d even signed up for a trial subscription within the apps when they remove them from their Android smartphones or tablets.

If you’ve installed SnapTube to quickly download a YouTube or Facebook video, then deleted the app and forgotten about it – you might’ve unwittingly signed yourself up to a premium service from the developer.

Estimates suggest SnapTube has already earned some $100 million (£78 million) from unsuspecting users.

Mobiuspace – the developer behind SnapTube and a number of other successful apps – said it was unaware of the issue and that any unwanted charges to customers are due to a third-party application that SnapTube communicates with.

Google has removed SnapTube from the Play Store – but that doesn’t remove the application from those who have already downloaded it.

If you’ve previously downloaded SnapTube – and noticed some unusual charges coming out of your current account – you should launch the Google Play Store app on your handset and tap the menu button in the upper left-hand corner of your screen.

Then head to subscriptions and find anything associated with SnapTube (or that you don’t recognise) and select it. Tap Cancel subscription and follow the on-screen instructions.



Source link

قالب وردپرس

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here